Importing users into an account

Let's say you have two or more Fastmail accounts (e.g., a personal account and a professional account), but you decide you no longer wish to have separate inboxes and separate billing. This page outlines how you can merge the data from one account into the main account you wish to continue using.

If you are looking to merge separate Fastmail accounts into the same billing account as individual users (e.g., two family members that signed up separately but want to be on the same billing account), please contact support for assistance.

Note: Migrating your data using the steps on this page requires IMAP access. If you are on a Basic plan without IMAP access, please contact support for assistance.

Migrate emails, contacts, and calendars

The first step is to migrate your emails, contacts, and calendars from your source account (the account you wish to stop using) into your destination account (the account you wish to continue using).

  1. Log in to the source account.
  2. Go to the Settings → Password & Security screen and create an app password with Mail, Contacts & Calendar access. (Keep the tab showing the app password open.)
  3. Open a new browser tab and log in to the destination account. Go to the Settings → Import & Setup screen, where you'll see the Import mail, calendars, and contacts section. Click Other (IMAP / CardDAV / CalDAV).
  4. Click the "configure manually" link at the end of the paragraph.
  5. A new screen will open.
    1. In the Import mail (via IMAP) section, find the Server field and enter imap.fastmail.com. The Port field should say 993, and SSL should be selected under Security.
    2. In the Import contacts (via CardDAV) section, enter carddav.fastmail.com.

    3. In the Import calendars (via CalDAV) section, enter caldav.fastmail.com.

    4. In the Email field, enter the email address of the source account. In the Password field, enter the app password you generated in Step 1.

    5. Click Log in.

  6. A new screen will open. Select the option to merge the imported emails into existing folders.
  7. Click Do it.

When the import has been completed, you will receive a confirmation email at your destination address. 

Add your old username as an alias

You can continue receiving mail at your old username by adding it as an alias.

First, you will need to remove the address from your old account:

  1. Log in to the source account.

  2. Go to the Settings → Users & Aliases screen and click the Edit button next to your username.

  3. Click Rename. Enter an alternate username for the account, e.g. username_old@domain.tld. Click Save.

  4. The old username will automatically be added as an alias in this account. Return to the Settings → Users & Aliases screen and click the Edit button next to the alias.

  5. Click Delete alias.
  6. A Verify it's you box will appear. Enter your password and click Continue. (For more information, see our Password-protected actions help page.)

Once the alias has been deleted from your source account, you can add it as an alias to your destination account.

  1. Log in to the destination account.

  2. Go to the Settings → Users & Aliases screen and scroll down to the Aliases section. Click the New alias button.

  3. In the Email section, type the desired alias into the corresponding field.
  4. In the Delivered to section, select the user that will receive these messages.
  5. Add a Description if you need to remind yourself later on why the alias was created. (The description will be displayed next to the alias in your Aliases section.)
  6. Be sure to click Save.

Migrate rules

If you have rules set up in your source account, you can import them into your destination account.

First, you will need to export the rules from your source account:

  1. Log in to the source account.

  2. Go to the Settings → Filters & Rules screen.

  3. Click the Export button. The rules will download as a .json file.

Once this has been done, you can import the rules into your destination account:

  1. Log in to the destination account.

  2. Go to the Settings → Filters & Rules screen.

  3. Click the Import button.
  4. From the new screen, click Choose a file. Select the downloaded .json file from your computer.
  5. Click Import all to import all of the rules, or click Choose rules to import and select the rules you wish to import. When you're ready, click Import.

Migrate files

Files will need to be migrated manually. This can be done by downloading the files from your source account and uploading them into your destination account. 

Migrate notes

Notes will need to be migrated manually. This can be done by manually copying them from your source account and pasting them into a new note on your destination account (or a desktop text editor of your choice).

Close the old account

Once you are sure that all data has been successfully transferred, you can delete the source account by following these steps:

  1. Open the screen.
  2. Scroll down to the Cancel account section and click Learn more and cancel this account.

If you have any unused funds in your deleted account, please contact support for assistance.

Was this article helpful?
5 out of 11 found this helpful