How to delete a domain

To delete a domain, you have to first ensure there are no aliases, users, or website using that domain.

On this page, we have instructions for deleting any aliases, users, or websites that may be on your domain.

If you are sure you have no aliases, users, or websites using the domain, you can skip to the Delete a domain section.

Delete aliases

If you have any aliases at the domain, they will need to be deleted by following these steps:

  1. Go to Settings → Users & Sharing → Aliases.
  2.  Find the alias you wish to delete and click the Edit button next to it.
  3. Click Delete address.
  4. A Verify it's you box will appear. Enter your password and click Continue. After clicking Continue, you should be able to see that the alias has been deleted.

Rename or delete users

If you have users at the domain, the users will need to be renamed or deleted.

You can rename the user by following these steps:

  1. Go to Settings → Users & Sharing.
  2.  Find the user you wish to rename and click the Edit button next to it.
  3. Click the Rename button. Enter what you'd like your new username to be. (Please double check that your new address is exactly what you want, and that it is now at a different domain.)
  4. Click Save.

Note: When a user is renamed, the old username is automatically turned into an alias. This means that you will also need to follow the above steps to delete the alias.

If you no longer need the user and you wish to delete it entirely, you can delete the user by following these steps:

  1. Go to Settings → Users & Sharing.
  2.  Find the user you wish to delete and click the Edit button next to it.
  3. Click the Delete button at the bottom of the page. 
  4. Confirm by typing DELETE into the prompt that appears.
  5. A Verify it's you box will appear. Enter your password and click Continue. After clicking Continue, you should be able to see that the user has been deleted. 

Note: This process cannot be reversed. It will permanently remove all mail, contacts, and calendars for the deleted user.

Delete a website

If you have a website set up for the domain, it will need to be deleted by following these steps:

  1. Go to Files → Websites.
  2. Find the website you set up for the domain and click the Edit button next to it.
  3. Click the Delete website button at the bottom of the page.

Delete a domain

Once there are no longer any aliases or users at the domain, you can delete the domain by following these steps:

  1. Go to Settings → Domains.
  2. Find the domain you want to delete and click the Edit button next to it.
  3. Click the Delete domain button at the bottom of the page.
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 7 found this helpful