Managing users as an admin

An account administrator (or admin) is the only one who can add, change, or remove users from an account. Adding a user to your account automatically makes you the admin for that user. An account can have more than one admin.

You can manage users on your account from the Settings → Users & Aliases screen.

Adding users

To add a new user, go to the Settings → Users & Aliases screen and click New user.

From here, you can set some basic information and settings for the user:

  • Name: The user's name. This is the name that will appear in the account's contacts.
  • Username: The user's email address. This is the address they will use to log in.
  • Password: The user's password. A randomly generated password is provided. If you wish to set a different password for the user, you can do so by clicking the Edit button.
  • Plan: The user's subscription plan type. By default, the plan type you already belong to is selected.

You can also choose to set some additional privacy, admin, and retention options for the new user:

  • Quota: If the user is on the Professional plan, you will see the Add 100 GB mail + 50 GB files quota button. This gives the user additional quota on top of what their subscription plan offers, and costs the same as adding an extra user. (If the user is not on the Professional plan, admins can add additional mail and file storage for the user by upgrading the user to the next plan tier.)
  • Privacy: By default, all user data is visible to all admins on the account. Selecting this option will prevent admins from being able to access that user's data. Once this option is selected, the only way to re-enable admin access is if the user restores it via the Settings → Password & Security screen.
  • Admin: Selecting this option will make this user an administrator for the account.
  • Retention: If the user is on the Professional plan, selecting the Keep a tamper-proof copy option will enable tamper-proof email retention for the user. (Tamper-proof email retention is a feature designed for accounts whose business or industry have compliance standards requiring them to keep records of all email communication.)

The above settings for the user can be edited by an admin at any time (see "Editing users" below).

When you're done, click the Purchase button to finish creating the user. The screen will show the cost of the user that you will be automatically billed for (pro-rated to the end of your current subscription), and the cost of the user that you will see on your regular bill in the future.

Editing users

To edit an existing user, go to the Settings → Users & Aliases screen and click the Edit button for the user.

From here, you can make changes to some basic information and settings for the user:

  • Name: The user's name. This is the name that will appear in the account's contacts.
  • Username: The user's email address. This is the address they will use to log in. More information on changing usernames can be found here.
  • Password: The user's password. Admins can reset the user's password or disable two-step verification if the user has lost their authentication device.
  • Disable: If needed, admins can disable the user, preventing them from logging in to their account. Disable login will prevent login access while still accepting new inbound email. Disable login and bounce incoming email will prevent login access as well as bounce any new incoming email back to the sender. Any existing data will remain as-is.
  • Plan: The user's subscription plan type. If you'd like to change this user's subscription plan, this can be done by clicking the Upgrade or Downgrade button for the desired plan.

You can also makes changes to privacy, admin, and retention options for the user:

  • Quota: If the user is on the Professional plan, you will see the Add 100 GB mail + 50 GB files quota button. This gives the user additional quota on top of what their subscription plan offers, and costs the same as adding an extra user. (If the user is not on the Professional plan, admins can add additional mail and file storage for the user by upgrading the user to the next plan tier.)
  • Privacy: By default, all user data is visible to all admins on the account. Selecting this option will prevent admins from being able to access that user's data. Once this option is selected, the only way to re-enable admin access is if the user restores it via the Settings → Password & Security screen.
  • Admin: Selecting this option will make this user an administrator for the account.
  • Retention: If the user is on the Professional plan, selecting the Keep a tamper-proof copy option will enable tamper-proof email retention for the user. (Tamper-proof email retention is a feature designed for accounts whose business or industry have compliance standards requiring them to keep records of all email communication.)

Admins can also make edits to multiple users simultaneously by selecting the checkboxes next to the users, then clicking the Edit button at the top of the list.

If multiple users are selected, you can only simultaneously edit the following fields:

  • Disable
  • Privacy
  • Admin
  • Retention

Removing users

Deleting a user is a process cannot be reversed. It will permanently remove all mail, contacts, and calendars for the deleted user.

To delete a user, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the Settings → Users & Aliases screen and click the Edit button for the user.
  2. Scroll down to the bottom of the screen and click Delete.
  3. You will see a prompt asking you to confirm by typing DELETE, then clicking OK.
  4. A Verify it's you box will appear. Enter your password and click Continue. (For more information, see our Password-protected actions help page.)
  5. The user is now deleted.

All mail, contacts, and calendars for the user will be deleted, and the user will no longer be able to log in. Any shared folders or shared calendars owned by this user will be removed from their shared locations. Once a user has been deleted, the username and any aliases will be available for use.

The account will be given a pro-rated credit to the end of the subscription for the deleted user.

Adding extra email storage quota

If a user is on a Basic or Standard subscription plan and requires extra storage, the admin can upgrade their plan. The user will gain additional features along with the extra quota.

If a user is on the Professional subscription plan, the admin can add quota. This gives the user additional quota on top of what their subscription plan offers, and costs the same as adding an extra user. The maximum quota per user is 300 GB.

You can decrease quota by going to the same screen and clicking Decrease Quota. If you decrease storage, your account will be partially credited a prorated amount, according to how much time is left in your current subscription.

If you are a legacy user, you can purchase additional storage after upgrading to a current plan.

Note: Setting quota on multiple users at one time will set all selected users to the same storage amount. After setting the quota for multiple users, you can decrease the storage amount if needed.

Managing user access

Account administrators can manage the access their users have to their account.

  • User password reset: Edit the user and reset the password.
  • Remove two-step verification (2FA): If a user loses their two-step verification device, an administrator can remove it from the Edit screen for that user.
  • Delete user: Individual users can be deleted.
  • Manage user security settings: By opening the user's account, the admin can then see and change their settings, including security settings. This is useful for logging out from sessions remotely, updating app passwords, or adding recovery options.
Was this article helpful?
20 out of 45 found this helpful