Shared contacts

About sharing

Sharing contacts is an easy way to let all users in an account have access to common address book entries — for example, businesses can share their corporate directory easily, or families can share contact information of extended family members.

Individual contacts can be shared, in which case they will show up under a user's All contacts list, or they can be shared as part of a contact group.

An administrator controls which contacts and groups are shared. Once shared, contacts and groups are visible to all users in an account.

Shared contacts are automatically whitelisted across all users in the account, ensuring they will never be marked as spam.

Making a contact shared

  1. Go to the Contacts page.
  2. Find the contact you wish to share, then click the Edit button.
  3. Select the Share contact in business address book checkbox.

If you wish to stop sharing a contact, you can do so by removing the contact from all shared groups, then unchecking the Share contact in business address book checkbox.

Creating a shared group

  1. Go to the Contacts page.
  2. Click the plus sign at the bottom left corner of the screen.
  3. Select Create shared group.
  4. Enter the name for your new group.
  5. Be sure to click Save.

Once a shared group is created, you cannot change it into a private group (and vice versa).

A shared group can only contain shared contacts.

Adding a contact to a shared group

Once a contact is shared, you can add it to a shared group.

  1. Go to the Contacts page.
  2. Find the contacts to be added to the shared group and select them using the checkboxes.
  3. Click the Groups button and select the desired shared group.

Removing shared contacts

Removing contacts from a group is the same as adding them, just in reverse.

  1. Go to the Contacts page.
  2. Select the group.
  3. Find the contacts to be removed from the group and select them using the checkboxes.
  4. Click the Groups button and uncheck the group.

While this removes the contact from the shared group, the contact remains shared. If you wish to make the contact private, it needs to be separately unshared.

Removing a contact from a shared group, or marking a contact unshared, does not delete the contact from the admin user's contact list.

Accessing shared contacts on a device

See our detailed guide on accessing contacts on devices.

Was this article helpful?
11 out of 35 found this helpful